A Black and White World

I recently downloaded the trial version of Nik Software’s Silver Efex Pro. I have to say, I like the results. Here is an example:
Here is a color photo I took at Walter Hill Dam in Murfreesboro, TN:

Here is a version that was simply converted to grayscale in photoshop (Image – Mode – Grayscale):

Here is how I would have converted to black and white before Silver Efex Pro:

And Here is the Silver Efex Pro version:

What’s the difference?
Well, I tend to like very contrasty images and silver efex pro seemed to help with that. The contrast in the last is the best, in my opinion. See the trees? The rocks? The waterfall? The building? They are all a little brighter but with out losing the darkness of the image, which I like.

So after downloading the trial version I went out with a black and white frame of mind. I decided to head over to Murfreesboro’s Cannonsburgh Village. What could be better for black and white than historic buildings?
Here’s is what I came away with:

Here are some others shots I got during my trial period:

Hills Repair... Needs Repair

Not to bad, huh? The problem? Silver Efex Pro runs for $199.95…..
I have not paid for the full version, so expect more color from me!
On a side note, I also tried out Nik Software’s Dfine. I really liked the results and it only sells for $99. That would be used for every photo, every time. I think that one may be worth it! I will try out some other noise reduction software first though, I’ll let you know what I find….

2 responses

  1. I’m having the same issues with actually buying Silver Efex Pro. Contacting Nik got me a 15% discount, which is sizable, but it’s still a hefty cost. Not sure if I will be purchasing it or not. I’m going to see what stuckincustoms.com has for a coupon. Any other ideas, I’m game!

    September 15, 2010 at 3:41 pm

    • No other ideas Kelly! I definitely did not buy it though – I’m still converting to black and white on my own in Photoshop CS2. I have a tutorial on how I do that HERE if you are interested. I saw that you also tested Nik Dfine – I’ve got to say that I tested that as well and decided not to buy that either. I found one that I liked a lot more called Imagenomic – it’s awesome!

      September 15, 2010 at 8:09 pm

Leave a Reply

